Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

DANSPLAINING!

Comments

• LefunesteLefuneste Posts: 8,009
    edited October 2018
    Thanks, I might check it out. I'll probably have the time next winter, as my university didn't give me a new course to teach.

I'm a lecturer, that means I'm working under a short term contract, and that if any of the tenure-track professors feel like teaching one of my classes, I get bumped. Well, one of the professors, a new one, by the looks of it, will be teaching Introduction to petrology next winter, which means I'm out of a job.

I love to teach, but I hate being a lecturer: no job security whatsoever. I'm going to try to find something else, but I'm not optimistic.
  • Jurf_WurburJurf_Wurbur Posts: 5,497
    If I am being honest, it turns out I do not actually mind the train to the city. I still resent the being obnoxiously underpaid thing, though.

There is a meeting set up for November 8th where the boss I like and four others (including me) will meet with an AVP who intends to hire the lot of us.

Plus one of the other reps I work with who is part of our escape plan has a job offer from a company that wants to talk to me too. So I have options.
  • moetownmoetown Posts: 3,280
    I just finished reading The Man in the High Castle. It was ok, but I didn’t think it was as good as some of the other PKD books I’ve read.
    I agree. What's your favourite PKD novel, Moe?
    edited October 2018
    Brazilians just elected a far-right cretin for president. See, you're not alone!
  • captqitncaptqitn Posts: 3,629
    In this case, misery does not love company.
    The tv show for The Man in the High Castle didn't do much for me. It felt like A+ level Golden Age of Television production values and quality of concept kind of indifferently, soullessly executed. I fell asleep during every single episode I ever tried to watch.